HDHMR Doors: Price, Pros, Cons and Where They Work
HDHMR-type doors are solid 30-32mm fibreboard shutters. November 2026 listings put plain doors at ₹140-153 per sq ft and laminated ones at ₹210-260; they suit bedroom and other interior doors and CNC designs, while bathroom use needs sealed edges and the brand's approval.

Last updated: . Door prices, thicknesses and claims checked against brand websites and dealer listings.
HDHMR doors: quick answer (November 2026)
HDHMR-type doors are solid 30-32mm shutters made from high-density, moisture-resistant fibreboard. Listings seen in November 2026 priced them at ₹140-153 per sq ft plain and ₹210-260 per sq ft laminated, against ₹58-140 for plain 30-35mm flush doors. They suit bedroom and other interior doors and CNC designs; for bathroom doors that get splashed daily, WPC or BWP flush doors are the safer pick.
| Brand door | Thickness | Sizes listed | Density | Water specification or claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Action TESA HDHMR Doors | 30 and 32mm (designer doors) | Confirm the size, thickness and finish combination before ordering | Not stated for doors; board over 850 kg/m3 | Stable through changing weather; special requirements need separate technical approval |
| CenturyPly Premium Plus Door | 30 and 32mm | Not listed on the brand page | Not stated for doors; board 850-870 kg/m3 | Board described as highly moisture resistant |
| Greenpanel HDWR Door | 30mm | 78x30, 78x36, 78x38, 78x42, 81x36, 81x38, 84x36 and 96x48 inches | 790-810 kg/m3 | Max 7% swelling after 24 hours; suitable for humid areas when edges and surface are sealed |
How HDHMR-type boards are used in doors
They appear in three forms: solid 30-32mm door shutters, 12-18mm cabinet and wardrobe shutters, and thin 3-8mm sheets for shutter surfaces. "HDHMR" is a registered trademark of Action TESA, and buyers often use it as a general term for high-density moisture-resistant boards, which each brand sells under its own name.
Action TESA sells HDHMR Doors in plain and prelaminated versions, made from eucalyptus hardwood fibres, and makes 30mm and 32mm boards especially for designer doors. CenturyPly lists a Premium Plus Door at 30mm and 32mm, and Greenpanel sells an HDWR Door at 30mm in eight ready sizes.
Designs: CNC, grooves and laminates
A uniform fibre core is what allows CNC grooves and 2D or 3D patterns on a solid door; Action TESA describes its doors as suited to 2D and 3D designs, and CenturyPly says Premium Plus can be carved and moulded with chip-free edges. Plain doors can be painted or laminated on site, while prelaminated doors arrive finished. For pattern ideas see jali door designs, and for skins on flush doors see door skin types and prices.
HDHMR door price in November 2026
Plain HDHMR-type doors listed at ₹140-153 per sq ft and laminated ones at ₹210-260 per sq ft, which puts them above plain flush doors and at or above the upper end of laminated flush doors.
| Door type | ₹ per sq ft | Listings seen (city) | 84 x 36 inch door (21 sq ft) |
|---|---|---|---|
| HDHMR-type door, plain, 30mm | 140-153 | Guna, Indore | ₹2,940-3,213 |
| HDHMR-type door, laminated or prelaminated | 210-260 | Guna, Patna | ₹4,410-5,460 |
| Flush door, plain or sunmica, 30-35mm | 58-140 | Indore, Ahmedabad, Perumbavoor, Yamuna Nagar, Patna, Rajkot, Hyderabad | ₹1,218-2,940 |
| BWP or waterproof flush door, 30mm | 115-127 | Patna, Gorakhpur | ₹2,415-2,667 |
| Laminated flush door | 140-220 | Lucknow, Surat, New Delhi and others | ₹2,940-4,620 |
| WPC door, 25-35mm | 125-270 | Ahmedabad, Nagpur, Kurukshetra, Vasai | ₹2,625-5,670 |
The per-door column is a PlyPrice estimate (method: listed price per sq ft x 21 sq ft, the area of an 84 x 36 inch shutter, one of Greenpanel's HDWR Door sizes). It excludes the frame, hinges, lock, fitting and transport, and most listings do not say whether GST is included. Greenply's own guide puts home interior flush doors at ₹2,000-8,000 each. Check sizes against the standard door size chart.
Pros of HDHMR-type doors
The main advantages are a published moisture specification, a one-piece core for designs and a smooth face for finishes.
- Measured swelling limit: Greenpanel's HDWR Door allows at most 7% swelling after 24 hours in water.
- Designs: the uniform core takes CNC grooves and 2D or 3D patterns.
- Finish: Action TESA describes a joint-less surface that holds paint and laminate.
- Termite and borer claims: Action TESA says its doors resist borers and termites; Greenpanel claims termite, borer and fungus resistance for its HDWR board, subject to T&C.
- Stability: Action TESA says its doors stay stable through changing weather, helping prevent bending and warping.
- Ready sizes: Greenpanel lists eight sizes from 78x30 to 96x48 inches.
Cons and limits of HDHMR-type doors
The trade-offs are weight, edge screw holding, thickness and price.
- Weight: an 84 x 36 inch, 30mm HDWR Door at 790-810 kg/m3 weighs about 46-47 kg (PlyPrice estimate: 1.95 m2 x 0.03 m x density). Greenply describes flush doors as lighter than most door types.
- Edge screw holding: hinges go into the door's edge, and Greenpanel's door lists 850 N edge withdrawal against 1,250 N on the face. CenturyPly's carpenter manual asks for three or more hinges on heavy or long shutters, fully threaded screws and pilot holes.
- Thickness: 30-32mm matches the 30-35mm Greenply suggests for interior doors, not the 40-45mm it suggests for entrance doors.
- Not waterproof: unsealed edges, especially the bottom edge, absorb water first.
- Price: plain HDHMR-type doors listed above plain flush doors in November 2026.
- Stock: Action TESA notes that not every size, thickness and finish combination is stocked.
HDHMR door vs flush door vs WPC door
Choose an HDHMR-type door for interior rooms where the design and finish matter, a flush door for value and finish choice, and a WPC door for wet areas.
| Attribute | HDHMR-type door | Flush door | WPC door |
|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Solid high-density fibreboard shutter | Frame with a core of solid timber, particleboard, hollow blocks or a plywood frame, under a laminate, veneer or paint skin | Wood particles mixed with PVC and pressed into panels |
| Thickness | 30-32mm | 25-40mm | 25-35mm in listings |
| Water | Water-resistant; 7% max swelling (Greenpanel) | Moderate; BWP grade for wet zones | Described by Greenply as highly resistant, no swelling |
| Termite | Brand claims (Action TESA, Greenpanel T&C) | Needs chemical treatment, per Greenply | Described by Greenply as termite-proof |
| Finish options | Paint, laminate, CNC designs | Wide: laminate, veneer, paint | Limited, mostly factory finish |
| Price per sq ft (listings) | ₹140-153 plain; ₹210-260 laminated | ₹58-140 plain; ₹140-220 laminated | ₹125-270 |
| Best for | Bedrooms, study and pooja rooms, designer interior doors | Bedrooms, living rooms, offices; entrance doors at 40-45mm | Bathrooms, kitchens, utility rooms |
The flush door and WPC descriptions follow Greenply's June 2026 comparison and its flush door guide. Solid timber doors are a different category: judge them on the species, seasoning and joinery rather than board specifications. More detail: flush door material, what is WPC board and how to choose plywood for doors.
Are HDHMR doors good for bathrooms?
Only with care: Greenpanel rates its HDWR Door as suitable for humid environments when the edges and surface are sealed, while Action TESA says special requirements need separate technical approval. Greenply calls BWP-grade plywood common for bathroom flush doors and recommends WPC for bathrooms and wet areas.
- Seal every edge, especially the bottom edge and the hinge and lock cut-outs, before fitting.
- Keep a gap above the wet floor so the bottom edge never stands in water.
- Ventilate the bathroom so steam does not sit on the door.
- Get the brand's approval in writing for a door that will be splashed from a shower.
If the door will be splashed every day, a WPC door or a BWP flush door is the safer choice. The full water behaviour of these boards is covered in Is HDHMR waterproof?
How to buy and verify
Confirm the product, size and paperwork before you pay.
- Name the brand's door product, thickness and size on the quote, for example "Greenpanel HDWR Door, 30mm, 84 x 36 inches".
- Check the licence. Greenpanel lists its HDWR Door under IS 12406:2021 Grade 1. Ask for the CM/L number ("CM/L-" plus 10 digits) and verify it in the BIS Care app (Verify Licence Details) or on Manak Online (Status of Licence).
- Ask whether the edges are factory-sealed and whether the door is plain or prelaminated.
- Inspect the door for a flat face, square corners and a dense, even edge with no crumbling.
- Get a fitted price including frame, hinges, lock, fitting, GST and transport, and keep the invoice and warranty card.
Comparing door options? Browse verified plywood dealers on PlyPrice and compare quotes for the same door type, thickness and size.
FAQs
What is the price of an HDHMR door?
Listings in November 2026 showed ₹140-153 per sq ft for plain 30mm HDHMR-type doors and ₹210-260 per sq ft for laminated ones. An 84 x 36 inch plain door works out to about ₹2,940-3,213 before the frame, hardware and fitting.
Is an HDHMR door better than a flush door?
For designer interior doors and painted finishes, often yes; for budget and for entrance doors, a flush door usually fits better. Plain flush doors listed at ₹58-140 per sq ft against ₹140-153 for plain HDHMR-type doors.
Can HDHMR be used for bathroom doors?
Only with every edge sealed and the bottom edge kept off the wet floor, and ideally with the brand's written approval. For doors splashed daily, Greenply recommends WPC, and BWP flush doors are a common alternative.
What is the thickness of an HDHMR door?
30-32mm. Action TESA and CenturyPly list 30mm and 32mm, and Greenpanel's HDWR Door is 30mm.
Can HDHMR doors have CNC designs?
Yes. The uniform fibre core takes CNC grooves and 2D or 3D patterns, which is why Action TESA makes 30mm and 32mm boards especially for designer doors.
Is HDHMR suitable for main doors?
Usually not as a first choice. Greenply suggests 40-45mm for entrance doors, thicker than 30-32mm HDHMR-type door boards; Action TESA describes its doors for interior use, while Greenpanel lists its HDWR Door for interior and exterior residential doors, subject to T&C. Follow the brand's written terms for that opening.
How heavy is an HDHMR door?
An 84 x 36 inch, 30mm door at 790-810 kg/m3 weighs about 46-47 kg (density x volume). Fit three or more hinges with fully threaded screws in pilot holes.
Sources and method: Door specifications come from the brands' own websites and catalogues: Action TESA HDHMR Doors and its door article, CenturyPly and its carpenter manual, and the Greenpanel MDF catalogue. Flush and WPC door descriptions come from Greenply's WPC vs flush door comparison and flush door guide. Prices come from IndiaMART listings seen in November 2026. Door weights and per-door costs are PlyPrice estimates (methods stated above). Prices are indicative, checked on 3 November 2026, and vary by city, dealer, brand series, thickness and order size.
Related guides on PlyPrice
Note: This is independent editorial content. PlyPrice is not affiliated with any brand mentioned in this article. Brand names and trademarks belong to their respective owners. HDHMR is a registered trademark of Action TESA. Prices and specifications are indicative and subject to change. Please verify current information with authorised dealers before purchase.
Disclaimer: This content is provided for general informational purposes based on industry practices and publicly available information. Product specifications, standards, prices, and availability may vary by manufacturer, region, and time. Readers should independently verify details with manufacturers, dealers, or qualified professionals before making purchase or construction decisions.
Want Plywood Suggestions?
Share a few details and a PlyPrice specialist will suggest suitable brands and connect you to responsive dealers.


