Action TESA vs Century vs Greenpanel: HDHMR-Type Boards Compared
Action TESA HDHMR, CenturyHDF Premium Plus and Greenpanel HDWR compared on published density, strength, sizes, warranty and listing prices. CenturyHDF publishes the strongest figures, Action TESA the widest related range, Greenpanel the widest thicknesses.

Last updated: . Specifications, certificates and warranty wording checked on the Action TESA, CenturyHDF and Greenpanel websites; prices checked on IndiaMART and materialdepot.in listings.
Action TESA vs Century vs Greenpanel HDHMR-type boards: quick answer (November 2026)
All three publish high densities and wide thickness ranges, so the right board depends on the job. CenturyHDF Premium Plus publishes the strongest figures (850-870 kg/m³, 2,000 N face screw withdrawal), Action TESA HDHMR (above 850 kg/m³) has the widest set of related door and wet-area boards, and Greenpanel HDWR offers the widest range, 3-30mm, plus an 8x6 sheet. November 2026 listings put plain 16-18mm boards from the three at ₹60-85 per sq ft.
| Attribute | Action TESA HDHMR | CenturyHDF Premium Plus (CenturyPly) | Greenpanel HDWR |
|---|---|---|---|
| Brand's own description | "High Density, High Moisture Resistant" | "Higher Density High Moisture Resistant Premium Boards" | High density water resistant, Grade 1 |
| Published density | Above 850 kg/m³ | 850-870 kg/m³ | 850 kg/m³ to 12mm; 825 for 12-19mm; 780 for 19-30mm |
| Thickness range | 3-25mm; 32mm for doors | 3-25mm; door boards 30mm and 32mm | 3-30mm; door board 30mm |
| Sheet sizes | About 2440x1220mm | 2440x1220mm; others to order | 2440x1220mm and 2440x1830mm |
| Screw withdrawal (face / edge) | In the PDF specification sheet | 2,000 N / 1,500 N | 1,250 N / 850 N |
| Warranty as published | Terms shown as an image | 20-year label on product page; 5 years in 2024 manual | Not stated in the catalogue |
| BIS standard shown | BIS certificate (2026) listed; product not named | Licences under IS 12406 and IS 14587 for its MDF | IS 12406:2021 Grade 1 for HDWR |
| Price on brand website | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Listings seen, November 2026 | 18mm: ₹60-70 per sq ft (IndiaMART) | 18mm: ₹72-75 per sq ft (IndiaMART) | 16-16.75mm: ₹83-85 per sq ft (materialdepot.in) |
What each brand calls its board
Each brand sells its board under its own name, and asking for that name is the simplest way to get the board you compared.
Buyers often use "HDHMR" as a general term for this board type, so a dealer quoting "HDHMR 18mm" may mean any maker's board. HDHMR is a registered trademark of Action TESA, and this page uses each brand's own product name.
- Action TESA HDHMR: sold by Action TESA (Balaji Action Buildwell) as plain and prelaminated boards made from hardwood fibres.
- CenturyHDF Premium Plus: CenturyPly (Century Plyboards India) sells its MDF and HDF range as CenturyHDF, and the older Century Prowud web address redirects there. The board is listed as Premium Plus and as Lower Emission Premium Plus.
- Greenpanel HDWR: Greenpanel (Greenpanel Industries) lists the board as HDWR in its MDF catalogue. Retail listings seen in November 2026 used names such as "Club HDF" and "Club HDWR HDF".
Density, strength and tolerance
CenturyHDF publishes the highest density band and the highest strength values of the three; Greenpanel publishes the IS 12406 Grade 1 levels, and Action TESA keeps its values in a PDF specification sheet.
| Property (18mm where it varies) | Action TESA HDHMR | CenturyHDF Premium Plus | Greenpanel HDWR |
|---|---|---|---|
| Density | Above 850 kg/m³ | 850-870 kg/m³ | 825 kg/m³ |
| Internal bond | PDF sheet | 1.00-1.20 N/mm² | 0.60-0.70 N/mm² across thicknesses |
| Bending strength (MOR) | PDF sheet | 32-35 N/mm² | 22-27 N/mm² across thicknesses |
| Screw withdrawal, face / edge | PDF sheet | 2,000 N / 1,500 N | 1,250 N / 850 N |
| Thickness tolerance | PDF sheet | ±0.3mm | Not in the catalogue sections checked |
| 18mm sheet weight (PlyPrice estimate) | Over 45.5 kg | 45.5-46.6 kg | About 44.2 kg |
Screw withdrawal is the figure to read for kitchens, where hinges and drawer runners are screwed in and adjusted for years. Greenpanel's figures match the IS 12406 Grade 1 requirement levels that CenturyHDF's folder also reproduces, so they are minimums the board is certified to meet; CenturyHDF's figures are its own specification for Premium Plus. Action TESA states its density on the product page and links a full specification sheet from its specification page, so ask the dealer for the current version before you compare.
The weights are a PlyPrice estimate (method: published density × 0.0536 m³, the volume of an 18mm 2440x1220mm sheet). They help on site: plan two people per sheet, and check the label on any sheet that feels much lighter than the rest. For what density means in daily use, see MDF vs HDHMR.
Thickness steps and sheet sizes
The three ranges overlap from 3mm to 25mm, but the steps differ, which matters when a carpenter's cutting list says 8mm or 12mm.
| Thickness | Action TESA HDHMR | CenturyHDF Premium Plus | Greenpanel HDWR |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3mm | Listed | Listed (plain) | Listed |
| 3.3mm | Not listed | Not listed | Listed |
| 5.5mm | Listed | Listed | Listed |
| 7.5mm | Not listed | Listed | Listed |
| 8mm | Listed | Listed | Not listed |
| 11mm | Not listed | Listed | Listed |
| 12mm | Listed | Listed | Not listed |
| 16mm, 16.75mm and 18mm | Listed | Listed | Listed |
| 25mm | Listed | Listed | Listed |
| 30mm board | Not listed | Not listed | Listed |
| Door boards | 32mm | 30mm and 32mm | 30mm |
| Sheet sizes | About 2440x1220mm | 2440x1220mm; others to specification | 2440x1220mm and 2440x1830mm |
"Not listed" means the size was not on the brand's own page or catalogue on 3 November 2026; ask the dealer, as ranges change. If your cutting list says 12mm and you choose Greenpanel, its nearest listed steps are 11mm and 16mm, and for 8mm the nearest is 7.5mm. For table tops and thick partitions, Greenpanel's list runs to 30mm, and its 2440x1830mm sheet suits wide panels. More on sizes is in board sizes, thicknesses and densities.
Water, termite and emission claims, as published
All three are sold for humid interiors and described as moisture or water resistant, not boiling-water-proof; Action TESA lists BOILO separately as its BWP board.
| Claim | Action TESA HDHMR | CenturyHDF Premium Plus | Greenpanel HDWR |
|---|---|---|---|
| Moisture | "High moisture resistance"; suited to "extremely humid climatic conditions" | "High Moisture-Resistance"; swelling up to 5% after a 24-hour soak | Water-resistant Grade 1 under IS 12406:2021; swelling limits from 30% (thinnest) to 7% (thickest) |
| Termite and borer | Termite and borer resistance claimed | Borer, termite and fungus resistance claimed | Not in the catalogue sections checked |
| Emission | CARB certificate on the certificates page; product not named | Sold as "Lower Emission"; folder lists TSCA Title VI and CARB-certified MDF at range level | E1 and E2 versions |
| Same-brand board for wet spots | BOILO, listed as a BWP FR HDF board | Cenboil Plus listed (specifications not checked) | Not checked |
In coastal cities and through the monsoon, edges let moisture in first. CenturyHDF's manual advises conditioning boards on site for 48-72 hours and sealing every exposed edge after work, and the same applies to any of the three. Under a leaking sink or on a wet bathroom floor, use a BWP-grade board or BWP plywood, and read how water resistant HDHMR-type boards are first.
Warranty, certificates and test reports
CenturyHDF states a warranty period but its documents differ, Action TESA shows its terms as an image, and Greenpanel's catalogue gives none, so the written card for your purchase is what counts.
| Item | Action TESA HDHMR | CenturyHDF Premium Plus | Greenpanel HDWR |
|---|---|---|---|
| Warranty | Warranty page; terms shown as an image | 20-year label on the product page; 5 years in the 2024 carpenter manual; 10 years at range level in the 2024 folder | Not stated in the catalogue |
| BIS | "BIS Certificate - 2026" listed; product not named | Licences under IS 12406 (plain MDF) and IS 14587 (prelaminated MDF) | IS 12406:2021 Grade 1 for HDWR |
| Other certifications | FSC, CARB, IGBC | TSCA Title VI; FSC products on request | FSC, CARB P2, Green Pro, ISO 9001, 14001 and 45001 |
| Test reports shown | Door tests (IPIRTI, Shriram Institute); BOILO tests including an IPIRTI IS 5509 certificate | Fire Smart Panel rated ASTM E84-2021 Class A | Catalogue also lists BS EN 622-5 and ISO 16895 MR2 |
A long warranty is only as useful as its conditions, so read the card for exclusions on water exposure and installation. The warranty guide and the certifications guide explain the terms.
Price and availability (November 2026)
None of the three publishes prices online, and listings for plain 16-18mm boards ran from ₹60 to ₹85 per sq ft across two different channels.
| Board and thickness | ₹ per sq ft | Per sheet (₹) | Channel |
|---|---|---|---|
| Action TESA HDHMR, 3mm | 23 | 736 (listed) | materialdepot.in |
| Action TESA HDHMR, 12mm | 65-98 | 2,080-3,136 | IndiaMART, 2 listings |
| Action TESA HDHMR, 18mm | 60-70 | 1,920-2,240 | IndiaMART, 2 listings |
| Action TESA HDHMR, 25mm | 99 | About 3,174 | IndiaMART, 1 listing |
| CenturyHDF Premium Plus, 3mm | 23.37 | 748 (listed) | materialdepot.in |
| CenturyPly board, 18mm | 72-75 | 2,304-2,400 | IndiaMART, 2 listings |
| Greenpanel HDWR, 3.3mm | 18.97 | 607 (listed) | materialdepot.in |
| Greenpanel HDWR, 16.75mm | 83 | 2,644 (listed) | materialdepot.in |
| Greenpanel HDWR, 16mm in a 10x4 sheet | 85 | 3,385 for 40 sq ft (listed) | materialdepot.in |
Compare within a channel: materialdepot.in is a retail store, while IndiaMART carries business-to-business seller listings that rarely state GST. On the one site that listed all three at 3mm, they sat within ₹18.97-23.37 per sq ft. Sheet prices without "(listed)" are PlyPrice estimates (method: per sq ft rate × 32).
None of the three publishes a national price, so freight and dealer margin vary by city. Find an authorised dealer through each brand's website (Action TESA, CenturyHDF, Greenpanel), and ask which thicknesses are in stock. The HDHMR board price list has thickness-wise bands and quote checks.
Pros and cons for typical Indian jobs
Each board has a clear strength and a clear gap in what it publishes, and both should shape your shortlist.
Action TESA HDHMR
- Pros: density above 850 kg/m³; plain and prelaminated boards, with more than 160 prelaminated designs by the brand's count; a 32mm door board with door test certificates listed; BOILO from the same brand for wetter spots.
- Watch for: detailed test values sit in a PDF specification sheet, warranty terms are shown as an image, and the certificates page does not name the product each certificate covers.
CenturyHDF Premium Plus
- Pros: the highest published strength values of the three; 7.5mm and 11mm steps as well as 8mm and 12mm; door boards in 30mm and 32mm, and a Fire Smart Panel rated ASTM E84-2021 Class A in the same range.
- Watch for: the warranty period differs across the brand's documents; prelaminated boards start at 5.5mm; dealers may know it as Century Prowud or by another name, so ask for Premium Plus.
Greenpanel HDWR
- Pros: the widest range, 3-30mm; a 2440x1830mm sheet; IS 12406:2021 Grade 1 stated for the board; E1 and E2 versions.
- Watch for: published density falls to 825 kg/m³ for 12-19mm and 780 kg/m³ above 19mm; no warranty period in the catalogue; 7.5mm and 11mm steps where cutting lists often say 8mm and 12mm.
Verdict by use case
No single board leads on every published measure, so pick by job.
| Job | Pick | Why (published facts) |
|---|---|---|
| Kitchen carcass and shelves, 18mm | CenturyHDF Premium Plus, then Action TESA HDHMR | Highest published density bands (850-870 kg/m³; above 850 kg/m³) |
| Hinge-heavy kitchen shutters | CenturyHDF Premium Plus | 2,000 N face and 1,500 N edge screw withdrawal published |
| Prelaminated wardrobes and shutters | Action TESA HDHMR | More than 160 prelaminated designs by the brand's count |
| Wide panels and sliding shutters | Greenpanel HDWR | 2440x1830mm sheet means fewer joints |
| Table tops and partitions above 25mm | Greenpanel HDWR | 30mm in its board range |
| Interior doors | Any of the three door boards | Action TESA 32mm with door test certificates listed; CenturyHDF 30mm and 32mm; Greenpanel 30mm at 790-810 kg/m³ |
| Sink base and other wet spots | Action TESA BOILO or BWP plywood | The three boards are sold as moisture or water resistant |
| Tight budget | Compare written quotes | 18mm listings overlap: ₹60-70 (Action TESA) and ₹72-75 (CenturyPly) per sq ft |
For doors in detail, see HDHMR doors: price, pros and cons; for a wider ranking that includes Greenply, see the best HDHMR-type board brands.
How to buy and verify the board you chose
Confirm that the board delivered is the one you compared, with a valid licence and a written warranty.
- Ask for the board by name. Ask for Action TESA HDHMR, CenturyHDF Premium Plus or Greenpanel HDWR, and check that the same name appears on the quote, the board and the invoice.
- Check the ISI mark and CM/L number. The ISI mark has been mandatory for MDF since 10 February 2025. Verify the "CM/L-" plus 10-digit number in the BIS Care app (Verify Licence Details) or on Manak Online (Status of Licence), and match the standard: IS 12406 for plain boards, IS 14587 for prelaminated MDF. The ISI check guide shows the steps.
- Get the current specification sheet and warranty card. Ask for both for the exact board and thickness, since published figures and warranty wording change.
- Inspect a cut edge. The core should be uniform and tight through the thickness, with no layers, voids or crumbling.
- Measure thickness at four corners. CenturyHDF publishes ±0.3mm for Premium Plus; use the same check on any board.
- Agree a delivered price with GST shown. Get transport, unloading and cutting charges in writing before the truck is loaded.
Comparing two or three of these boards? Browse verified plywood and board dealers on PlyPrice and ask each for a written quote on the same thickness and finish.
FAQs
Which is better, Greenpanel HDWR or Action TESA HDHMR?
Action TESA HDHMR publishes a higher density at 18mm (above 850 kg/m³ against 825 kg/m³) and has more related boards, including doors and BOILO. Greenpanel HDWR offers a wider 3-30mm range, a 2440x1830mm sheet and a BIS standard stated for the board. Choose Greenpanel for 30mm or wide panels, and Action TESA for prelaminated designs and same-brand doors.
Action TESA vs Century: which HDHMR-type board is better?
CenturyPly's comparable board is CenturyHDF Premium Plus, which publishes 850-870 kg/m³ and 2,000 N face screw withdrawal; Action TESA HDHMR states above 850 kg/m³ and keeps its test values in a PDF sheet. For hinge-heavy kitchens, Premium Plus has the stronger published figures. For prelaminated designs, door boards and a same-brand BWP board, Action TESA has the wider range.
Is Greenpanel HDWR the same as HDHMR?
HDWR is Greenpanel's name for its high-density water-resistant board, certified to IS 12406:2021 Grade 1, and HDHMR is Action TESA's registered trademark for its own board. They are comparable board types with different published densities, thickness steps and sheet sizes.
Which is cheaper: Action TESA, Century or Greenpanel?
None publishes prices online. November 2026 listings showed 18mm Action TESA HDHMR at ₹60-70 per sq ft and CenturyPly's board at ₹72-75 on IndiaMART, and Greenpanel HDWR at ₹83-85 for 16-16.75mm on materialdepot.in, a different channel. At 3mm on that one retail site, all three sat within ₹18.97-23.37 per sq ft.
Which of the three has the longest warranty?
CenturyHDF's Premium Plus page shows a 20-year label, but its 2024 carpenter manual states 5 years. Action TESA shows its terms as an image and Greenpanel's catalogue gives no period, so compare the warranty cards that dealers hand over.
Which board suits a modular kitchen in a humid city?
For 18mm carcasses and shutters in coastal or monsoon-heavy cities, shortlist CenturyHDF Premium Plus or Action TESA HDHMR for their published densities of 850 kg/m³ and above. Seal every edge, and use BOILO or BWP plywood under the sink.
Sources and method: Specifications, names, certificates and warranty wording come from each brand's own website or documents, read on 3 November 2026: Action TESA HDHMR, the Action TESA thickness guide, Action TESA certificates, CenturyHDF Premium Plus, the CenturyHDF specification folder, the CenturyHDF carpenter manual and the Greenpanel MDF catalogue. Prices are seller listings on IndiaMART and retail listings on materialdepot.in; weights and unlisted sheet prices are PlyPrice estimates with the method stated beside them. Licence checks use BIS and Manak Online. Prices are indicative, checked on 3 November 2026, and vary by city, dealer, brand series, thickness and order size.
Related guides on PlyPrice
Note: This is independent editorial content. PlyPrice is not affiliated with any brand mentioned in this article. Brand names and trademarks belong to their respective owners. HDHMR is a registered trademark of Action TESA. Prices and specifications are indicative and subject to change. Please verify current information with authorised dealers before purchase.
Disclaimer: This content is provided for general informational purposes based on industry practices and publicly available information. Product specifications, standards, prices, and availability may vary by manufacturer, region, and time. Readers should independently verify details with manufacturers, dealers, or qualified professionals before making purchase or construction decisions.
Want Plywood Suggestions?
Share a few details and a PlyPrice specialist will suggest suitable brands and connect you to responsive dealers.


