Best HDHMR Board Brands in India 2026: Top Boards Compared
Ranked on the specs each maker publishes: CenturyHDF Premium Plus (CenturyPly) first, then Action TESA HDHMR, Greenpanel HDWR, VIR MAXPRO (HDFWR) and Greenply MDF 710 HDMR. Seven more makers listed unranked. No brand paid for placement.

Last updated: . Board specifications, certifications and warranty wording checked on the Action TESA, CenturyHDF, Greenpanel, VIR and Greenply websites, and seven more makers' sites checked for board names; prices checked on dealer listings.
Best HDHMR board brands in India: quick answer (November 2026)
Ranked on the specifications each maker publishes on its own website, the leading HDHMR-type boards in India are 1. CenturyHDF Premium Plus (CenturyPly), 2. Action TESA HDHMR, 3. Greenpanel HDWR, 4. VIR MAXPRO (HDFWR) and 5. Greenply MDF 710 HDMR. CenturyHDF publishes the fullest strength data at 850-870 kg/m³, Action TESA (above 850 kg/m³) has the widest set of related door and wet-area boards, and Greenpanel the widest thickness range, 3-30mm. No brand paid for placement.
| Rank | Board (brand) | Published density | Thicknesses | Sheet sizes | Warranty as published | Certification shown by the brand |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CenturyHDF Premium Plus (CenturyPly) | 850-870 kg/m³ | 3-25mm; prelaminated from 5.5mm | 2440x1220mm; other sizes to order | 20-year label on the product page; 5 years in the 2024 carpenter manual | BIS licences under IS 12406 and IS 14587 for its MDF; TSCA Title VI |
| 2 | Action TESA HDHMR | Above 850 kg/m³ | 3-25mm; 32mm for doors | About 2440x1220mm | Warranty page with terms shown as an image | Certificates page lists BIS (2026), FSC, CARB and IGBC |
| 3 | Greenpanel HDWR | 850 kg/m³ to 12mm; 825 for 12-19mm; 780 for 19-30mm | 3-30mm | 2440x1220mm and 2440x1830mm | Not stated in the catalogue | IS 12406:2021 Grade 1; FSC, CARB P2 and Green Pro listed |
| 4 | VIR MAXPRO (HDFWR) (Rushil Decor) | 850-900 kg/m³ | 3-25mm | 6x4, 8x4 and 8x6 ft | Not published | No IS number or emission class stated for this board |
| 5 | Greenply MDF 710 HDMR | Not on the pages checked | Not on the pages checked | Not on the pages checked | "Manufacturer warranties", no period stated | Brand states "E0-emission compliant" |
How this ranking works
The ranking uses only what a buyer can check on each maker's own website or catalogue, read on 3 November 2026. Each board was assessed on six criteria:
- Published density for the board.
- Published technical values, such as screw withdrawal and swelling after a water soak.
- Published thickness range and sheet sizes.
- A BIS standard or licence shown by the maker.
- A warranty period stated in text.
- Same-brand options for doors, wetter areas and fire-sensitive jobs.
Price did not separate the five, because none publishes a price online. Dealer availability was not scored, as coverage could not be checked the same way for every brand. No brand paid for placement, and PlyPrice is not affiliated with any of them.
Buyers often use "HDHMR" as a general term for this board type. HDHMR is a registered trademark of Action TESA, so each board carries the name its own maker uses. Five boards have enough published detail to rank; seven more makers are listed further down without a rank. For a side-by-side view of the top three, see the Action TESA, Century and Greenpanel comparison.
The five boards, ranked
CenturyHDF leads on published strength data, Action TESA on related products, Greenpanel on thickness range and BIS detail, VIR on a stated density and three sheet sizes, and Greenply trails on published detail.
1. CenturyHDF Premium Plus (CenturyPly)
CenturyPly (Century Plyboards India) sells its MDF and HDF range under the CenturyHDF name; the older Century Prowud web address redirects to centuryhdf.com. Premium Plus, also listed as Lower Emission Premium Plus, is described by the brand as "Higher Density High Moisture Resistant Premium Boards".
- What it publishes: density of 850-870 kg/m³, internal bond of 1.00-1.20 N/mm², bending strength (MOR) of 32-35 N/mm², screw withdrawal of 2,000 N on the face and 1,500 N on the edge, a maximum 5% swelling after a 24-hour soak, moisture content of 4-8% and a ±0.3mm thickness tolerance.
- Range: 3, 5.5, 7.5, 8, 11, 12, 16, 16.75, 18 and 25mm, with prelaminated boards from 5.5mm; 2440x1220mm sheets as standard and other sizes to specification. The brand also claims borer, termite and fungus resistance.
- Related boards: Premium Plus Door in 30mm and 32mm, and Fire Smart Panel (ASTM E84-2021 Class A).
- Check before buying: warranty wording differs across the brand's documents: a 20-year label on the current product page, 5 years in the 2024 carpenter manual and a 10-year range-level warranty in the 2024 specification folder. Ask for "Premium Plus" by name, with the warranty card.
Why first: the fullest set of board-level strength values, and the highest among those published.
2. Action TESA HDHMR
Action TESA (Balaji Action Buildwell) sells Action TESA HDHMR as plain and prelaminated boards. The brand says the board is made from hardwood fibres at a density above 850 kg/m³ and resists moisture, borers and termites.
- What it publishes: density above 850 kg/m³, a specification sheet linked as a PDF from its specification page, and more than 160 prelaminated design options (brand figure).
- Range: 3, 5.5, 8, 12, 16, 16.75, 18 and 25mm, plus a 32mm door board; sheet about 2440x1220mm.
- Related boards: HDHMR doors, with IPIRTI and Shriram Institute door test certificates listed, and BOILO, listed as a BWP FR HDF board with an IPIRTI test certificate to IS 5509.
- Check before buying: the certificates page lists BIS (2026), FSC, CARB and IGBC certificates without naming the product each covers, and the warranty terms are an image. Ask for the CM/L number and the warranty card.
Why second: a high published density and the broadest set of related door and wet-area boards, with technical values held in a PDF.
3. Greenpanel HDWR
Greenpanel (Greenpanel Industries) sells its high-density board as HDWR, listed in its MDF catalogue as a water-resistant Grade 1 board.
- What it publishes: density of 850 kg/m³ up to 12mm, 825 kg/m³ for 12-19mm and 780 kg/m³ for 19-30mm; screw withdrawal of 1,250 N on the face and 850 N on the edge; internal bond of 0.60-0.70 N/mm² and MOR of 22-27 N/mm², depending on thickness; E1 and E2 versions.
- Range: 3, 3.3, 5.5, 7.5, 11, 16, 16.75, 18, 25 and 30mm, in 2440x1220mm and 2440x1830mm sheets, the widest thickness range of the five.
- Certification shown: BIS IS 12406:2021 Grade 1 for HDWR, with BS EN 622-5, ISO 16895 MR2, FSC, CARB P2 and Green Pro also listed.
- Related boards: HDWR Door in 30mm (790-810 kg/m³) and Exterior MDF.
- Check before buying: the catalogue does not state a warranty period, and its thickness list has an 11mm step where a carpenter may specify 12mm.
Why third: the clearest BIS standard and the widest thickness range, but its published density steps down in thicker boards and the warranty period is not in the catalogue.
4. VIR MAXPRO (HDFWR)
VIR is the MDF brand of Rushil Decor Limited. Its site lists VIR MAXPRO (HDFWR) as a "High-Density Fiber Water Resistant" board, alongside VIR PRO interior MDF, VIR PROPLUS exterior MDF, and prelaminated, laminated and melamine MDF.
- What it publishes: density of 850-900 kg/m³; thicknesses of 3, 5.5, 7.5, 11, 16, 16.75, 18 and 25mm; sheets of 6x4 ft (1830x1220mm), 8x4 ft (2440x1220mm) and 8x6 ft (2440x1830mm). The maker describes the board as moisture, termite, borer and fungus resistant.
- Not published for this board: strength values, an IS number, an emission class and a warranty period.
- Check before buying: ask for VIR MAXPRO (HDFWR) by name, with the specification sheet, the CM/L number and the warranty card.
Why fourth: a stated density, a full thickness list and three sheet sizes, but no test values, standard or warranty.
5. Greenply MDF 710 HDMR
Greenply (Greenply Industries) names its board Greenply MDF 710 HDMR. Its guide says the board "excels specifically in resisting humidity" and that its products are "E0-emission compliant", with manufacturer warranties.
- What to note: E0 is a maker's emission claim tested to other standards; the BIS standard for MDF uses E1 and E2 classes. The certifications guide explains the difference.
- Check before buying: density, thicknesses, sizes and warranty period were not on the pages checked, so ask for the specification sheet and warranty card.
Why fifth: the least published detail of the five. That says nothing about performance, only about what a buyer can verify.
Published strength values compared
Two of the five publish board-level test values as text, and screw withdrawal is the figure to read for hinge-heavy jobs such as kitchen shutters.
| Property | CenturyHDF Premium Plus | Greenpanel HDWR | Action TESA HDHMR |
|---|---|---|---|
| Density | 850-870 kg/m³ | 850 / 825 / 780 kg/m³ by thickness band | Above 850 kg/m³ |
| Screw withdrawal, face | 2,000 N | 1,250 N | In the PDF specification sheet |
| Screw withdrawal, edge | 1,500 N | 850 N | In the PDF specification sheet |
| Bending strength (MOR) | 32-35 N/mm² | 22-27 N/mm² | In the PDF specification sheet |
| Swelling after 24-hour soak | Up to 5% | Up to 30% for the thinnest boards, falling to 7% for the thickest | In the PDF specification sheet |
Greenpanel's figures match the IS 12406 Grade 1 requirement levels, which CenturyHDF's folder also reproduces, so they are certified minimums; CenturyHDF's are its own specification for Premium Plus. VIR publishes a density for MAXPRO but no strength values. Ask for the current sheet of the exact board you buy.
Which board for which job
Choose for the job's moisture, load and thickness first, then compare written quotes.
| Job | Thickness | Shortlist | Why (published facts) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kitchen carcass and shelves | 18mm | CenturyHDF Premium Plus; Action TESA HDHMR | Highest published densities (850-870 kg/m³; above 850 kg/m³); CenturyHDF publishes 2,000 N face screw withdrawal |
| Prelaminated kitchen shutters | 18mm | Action TESA HDHMR | More than 160 prelaminated designs, by the brand's count |
| Wardrobe shutters and wide panels | 18mm | Greenpanel HDWR or VIR MAXPRO for 2440x1830mm sheets; the others in 2440x1220mm | A wider sheet means fewer joints on wide panels |
| Bathroom vanity | 18mm, every edge sealed | CenturyHDF Premium Plus or Action TESA HDHMR; for always-wet zones, a BWP-grade board or BWP plywood | These boards are sold as moisture resistant; Action TESA lists BOILO separately as a BWP FR HDF board |
| Interior doors | 30-32mm door boards | Action TESA HDHMR door (32mm); CenturyHDF Premium Plus Door (30mm, 32mm); Greenpanel HDWR Door (30mm) | Action TESA lists IPIRTI and Shriram door test certificates; Greenpanel publishes 790-810 kg/m³ for its door |
| Thick table tops and partitions | 25-30mm | Greenpanel HDWR | Its board range runs to 30mm; Action TESA and CenturyHDF list boards up to 25mm |
Fitting notes
CenturyHDF's carpenter manual recommends 18mm for kitchen carcasses and shutters, sealed edges, and three or more hinges on tall wardrobe shutters (see HDHMR vs plywood for wardrobes). Where a board stays wet, choose BWP plywood and read how water resistant HDHMR-type boards are. For doors, see HDHMR doors: price, pros and cons.
Other makers that list a similar board (not ranked)
Seven more makers name a board of this type on their websites. The notes taken give a name and, for two makers, a warranty line, but no density, thickness or sheet size, so they are not ranked.
| Maker (city) | Board name as the maker writes it | What the site states |
|---|---|---|
| Bhutan Tuff (New Delhi) | HDHMR | Listed with plywood, blockboard, doors, MDF and WPC boards. Named ranges are Club Grade, Elite Grade, Bhutan Tuff 710, BTXWR and ZEFW; the notes do not say which are this board. |
| Archidply (New Delhi) | EDHMR | Listed with plywood, blockboard, doors, MDF, laminates and WPC. It is an HDHMR-type board by category, not by name. |
| Crossbond, Metro Group (New Delhi) | HDMR-MAX | A named range; the site also lists BoilTough BWP-HDF-FR, CARB MDF and Aqua Shield. |
| Treelab | HDMHR 850+ | A 10-year warranty is stated on it. The site also lists HDF 750+ and BWPFR 1000+. |
| Pioneer Panel Products (Rohtak, Haryana) | PDHMR | Described as moisture resistant, with a 10-year warranty stated on PDHMR. |
| Somani Ply (Bangalore) | HDHMR | Listed with plywood, blockboard, MDF and OSB particle board. BIS, FSC and E1 appear on the site for the range, not tied to this board. |
| Apple Plywoods, AK Ply (Bengaluru) | HDHMR | Listed with plywood, blockboard, doors, MDF and particle board. IS 303, IS 710, IS 1659 and IS 5509 appear on the site, not tied to this board. |
E3 Group's site says "BIS certified" and lists MDF, HPL and laminates, but names no board of this type, so it is not included. Warranties shown for a maker's whole range, such as Archidply's 10-30 years or Somani Ply's lifetime cover, are not tied to the board, so ask for the board-specific card.
Price snapshot (November 2026)
No brand publishes prices online. November 2026 listings put plain 18mm Action TESA boards at ₹60-70 per sq ft, CenturyPly's board at ₹72-75 and Greenpanel HDWR at 16-16.75mm at ₹83-85 (different channels and thicknesses), and a Greenply HDMR listing at ₹70 including 18% GST. No VIR price was checked. Thickness-wise rates and quote checks are in the HDHMR board price list.
How to buy and verify an HDHMR-type board
Buy the exact board you shortlisted, and check its licence and paperwork before paying.
- Ask for the board by its maker's name. Ask for Action TESA HDHMR, CenturyHDF Premium Plus, Greenpanel HDWR, VIR MAXPRO (HDFWR) or Greenply MDF 710 HDMR, and check that the same name appears on the quote, the board and the invoice.
- Check the ISI mark and CM/L number. The ISI mark has been mandatory for MDF since 10 February 2025; Greenpanel lists HDWR under IS 12406:2021 Grade 1, and CenturyHDF lists BIS licences under IS 12406 and IS 14587. VIR's pages state no IS number for MAXPRO, so ask for the number. Verify the "CM/L-" plus 10-digit number in the BIS Care app (Verify Licence Details) or on Manak Online (Status of Licence). The ISI mark check guide shows the steps.
- Get the warranty card and a full invoice. Warranty wording differs by brand and even across one brand's documents, so the card for your purchase is what counts; the warranty guide explains what to look for. The invoice should name brand, product, thickness, size, finish, rate and GST.
- Inspect the board and agree the price. The cut edge should look uniform and tight, with no layers, voids or crumbling; measure thickness at four corners against the quote (CenturyHDF publishes ±0.3mm for Premium Plus). Get the delivered price, with transport, unloading and cutting, in writing.
Want quotes on more than one brand? Browse verified plywood and board dealers on PlyPrice and ask each for a written quote on the same board and thickness.
FAQs
Which is the best HDHMR board brand in India?
On published, verifiable specifications, CenturyHDF Premium Plus (CenturyPly) ranks first, followed by Action TESA HDHMR, Greenpanel HDWR, VIR MAXPRO (HDFWR) and Greenply MDF 710 HDMR. The right pick still depends on the job: Greenpanel HDWR suits 30mm needs, Greenpanel or VIR suits 8x6 ft sheets, and Action TESA has the widest set of related door and wet-area boards.
What are the top 5 HDHMR board brands in India?
This ranking covers five boards with enough published detail: CenturyHDF Premium Plus, Action TESA HDHMR, Greenpanel HDWR, VIR MAXPRO (HDFWR) and Greenply MDF 710 HDMR. Seven more makers (Bhutan Tuff, Archidply, Crossbond, Treelab, Pioneer Panel Products, Somani Ply, Apple Plywoods) name a similar board but are not ranked.
Which HDHMR board is best for kitchen cabinets?
For 18mm carcasses and shelves, shortlist the highest published densities: CenturyHDF Premium Plus (850-870 kg/m³, 2,000 N face screw withdrawal) and Action TESA HDHMR (above 850 kg/m³). Seal every cut edge.
Is Greenpanel HDWR the same as HDHMR?
HDWR is Greenpanel's name for its high-density water-resistant board, certified to IS 12406:2021 Grade 1, while HDHMR is Action TESA's registered trademark for its own board. Both are high-density moisture-resistant fibreboards, but their published densities, thickness lists and sheet sizes differ.
Which brand gives the longest warranty on these boards?
Only CenturyHDF states a readable period, and its documents differ: a 20-year label on the Premium Plus page and 5 years in its 2024 carpenter manual. Action TESA shows its terms as an image and Greenpanel's catalogue gives no period, so compare the written warranty cards that dealers hand over. VIR publishes no period for MAXPRO, while Treelab and Pioneer Panel Products state 10 years on their boards.
Sources and method: The ranking uses only information on each maker's own website or catalogue, read on 3 November 2026: CenturyHDF Premium Plus, the CenturyHDF specification folder, the CenturyHDF carpenter manual, Action TESA HDHMR, the Action TESA thickness guide, Action TESA certificates, the Greenpanel MDF catalogue VIR MAXPRO (HDFWR), VIR and Greenply's board guide; the seven unranked makers are linked in their table, and E3 Group's site is e3groupindia.com. The six criteria are listed in the ranking section, and no brand paid for placement. Prices are seller and store listings on IndiaMART and materialdepot.in, and per sheet figures are PlyPrice estimates (method: per sq ft rate × 32) unless marked as listed. Licence checks use BIS and Manak Online. Prices are indicative, checked on 3 November 2026, and vary by city, dealer, brand series, thickness and order size.
Related guides on PlyPrice
Note: This is independent editorial content. PlyPrice is not affiliated with any brand mentioned in this article. Brand names and trademarks belong to their respective owners. HDHMR is a registered trademark of Action TESA. Prices and specifications are indicative and subject to change. Please verify current information with authorised dealers before purchase.
Disclaimer: This content is provided for general informational purposes based on industry practices and publicly available information. Product specifications, standards, prices, and availability may vary by manufacturer, region, and time. Readers should independently verify details with manufacturers, dealers, or qualified professionals before making purchase or construction decisions.
Want Plywood Suggestions?
Share a few details and a PlyPrice specialist will suggest suitable brands and connect you to responsive dealers.


