Best MDF Board Brands in India 2026: Grades and Ranges Compared
On specifications each brand publishes and a buyer can verify, Greenpanel ranks first, followed by CenturyPly (CenturyHDF), Greenply, Action TESA and VIR MDF (Rushil Décor). Brands were scored on seven published criteria, and no brand paid for placement.

Last updated: . Grades, thickness ranges, densities, emission claims, standards and warranties checked against each brand's own website and IS 12406:2025.
Best MDF board brands in India: quick answer (November 2026)
On details each brand publishes and a buyer can verify, Greenpanel (Greenpanel Industries) ranks first, followed by CenturyPly (Century Plyboards India), Greenply (Greenply Industries), Action TESA and VIR MDF (Rushil Décor). Greenpanel and CenturyPly publish the fullest grade, thickness, density, emission and warranty data; Greenply is the only one showing prices online; Action TESA is the only one of the five whose MDF page cites IS 12406:2025 by number. No brand paid for placement.
| Rank and brand | Plain MDF grades (brand names) | High-density or boiling-proof boards | Thickness range published | Sheet sizes published | Emission information |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Greenpanel | Interior MDF (REG Grade), Exterior MDF (MR Grade), FRMDF (REG Grade), CARB P2 MDF | HDWR; BoilBLACK BWP HDF | Interior 1.7-30mm; Exterior 2.7-25mm; HDWR 3-30mm | 8x4, 8x6 and 6x4 ft | E1 and E2; CARB P2; E0.5 option |
| 2. CenturyPly (CenturyHDF) | DIR (interior), DWR (water resistant), Fire Smart Panel | Premium Plus; Cenboil Plus | DIR 1.5-30mm; DWR 3.3-25mm; Premium Plus 3-25mm | 8x4 ft standard, others to specification | CARB and E2; E1 for Premium Plus and Fire Smart |
| 3. Greenply | MDF Interior, MDF Exterior, CARB P2 MDF | 710 HDMR; Boil Pro 500 | Interior 1.9-30mm; Exterior 3.3-30mm; 710 HDMR 3-30mm | 8x4 ft, plus 6x4, 6x3 and 10x4 ft in its size guide | CARB P2, marketed as zero-emission |
| 4. Action TESA | MDF Regular/Interior and MR/Exterior | Action TESA HDHMR; BOILO | About 1.9-25mm | Not stated on pages checked | CARB-certified E0, E1 and E2 (brand claim) |
| 5. VIR MDF (Rushil Décor) | VIR PRO (interior), VIR PROPLUS (exterior) | VIR MAXPRO (HDFWR) | MDF 2-25mm; HDFWR 3-25mm | 8x4, 8x6 and 6x4 ft | Not stated on pages checked |
How the MDF brands were ranked
Each brand was scored on seven things a buyer can check on the brand's own website, one point each, with half points where only part of the information is published.
- Grade range: interior, moisture-resistant, high-density moisture-resistant and fire-retardant boards.
- Thickness range published for its boards.
- Density figures published (half point if only for one board type).
- Emission class or claim published.
- A BIS standard or BIS grade named on the site.
- A warranty published for at least one MDF or HDF board.
- Sheet sizes and online prices published (half point each).
Ties are broken by whether the site uses the current IS 12406:2025 grade names. No brand paid for placement, and PlyPrice is not affiliated with any of them. Only brands whose MDF specifications could be checked on their own websites on 3 November 2026 were ranked; other makers also sell MDF in India, so ask your dealer for their specification sheets.
| Brand | Grades | Thickness | Density | Emission | BIS named | Warranty | Sizes and prices | Score (of 7) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Greenpanel | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0.5 | 6.5 |
| CenturyPly (CenturyHDF) | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0.5 | 6.5 |
| Greenply | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 6 |
| Action TESA | 1 | 1 | 0.5 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 4.5 |
| VIR MDF (Rushil Décor) | 0.5 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0.5 | 2 |
Greenpanel and CenturyPly tie on points; Greenpanel ranks first because its product names already use the IS 12406:2025 grades (REG and MR). A lower score means fewer details were published on the pages checked, not that a brand's boards perform worse, so ask the dealer for any missing detail.
Brand profiles: what each MDF brand publishes
Each profile uses the brand's own product names and the specifications on its website; confirm the latest sheet with your dealer before ordering.
1. Greenpanel (Greenpanel Industries)
Greenpanel publishes the most complete MDF catalogue of the five. The range covers Interior MDF (REG Grade) from 1.7mm to 30mm, Exterior MDF (MR Grade) from 2.7mm to 25mm, FRMDF (REG Grade), CARB P2 MDF with an E0.5 option (formaldehyde content up to 4.0 mg per 100 g), HDWR from 3mm to 30mm and BoilBLACK BWP HDF in 12mm and 18mm at 1,100 kg/m³. Sheets come in 8x4 and 8x6 ft, plus 6x4 ft for plain interior board.
Density is published thickness by thickness: 710-720 kg/m³ for 12-19mm Interior and Exterior MDF and 825 kg/m³ for HDWR. The catalogue lists E1 and E2 emission classes and termite, borer and fungus resistance subject to terms and conditions, and BoilBLACK carries a 25-year warranty. Pre-laminated MDF comes in Classic and Exquisite collections with 150+ shades. Greenpanel makes MDF at Pantnagar (Uttarakhand) and Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh).
2. CenturyPly (CenturyHDF range)
CenturyPly (Century Plyboards India) presents its MDF on its CenturyHDF website, while retail listings use the name Century Prowud. The range: DIR (Densified Interior Range) from 1.5mm to 30mm, DWR (Densified Water Resistant) from 3.3mm to 25mm, Premium Plus, a higher-density high-moisture-resistant board from 3mm to 25mm, plus Fire Smart Panel, Cenboil Plus, which the brand presents as boiling proof, and Artz 2.3mm embossed MDF. Pre-lam versions start at 5.5mm in matt and suede finishes, on a standard 8x4 ft sheet.
Its carpenter manual is the most detailed of the five: density 600-900 kg/m³ for DIR and DWR and 850-870 kg/m³ for Premium Plus, 24-hour swelling of 10% (DIR), 7% (DWR) and 4% (Premium Plus), and screw and storage rules. The certifications page claims CARB compliance, E2 grade and FSC-certified timber (FSC-C143057). The Premium Plus page shows a 20-year warranty, while the 2024 manual mentions 5 years for Lower Emission Premium Plus, so confirm the term on the warranty card. MDF is made at Hoshiarpur, Punjab.
3. Greenply (Greenply Industries)
Greenply lists MDF Interior (1.9mm to 30mm), MDF Exterior (3.3mm to 30mm), 710 HDMR (3mm to 30mm on its product page), CARB P2 MDF, which it markets as zero-emission, Boil Pro 500, which it describes as boiling waterproof and fire retardant to IS 5509, and pre-laminated MDF in Perfect and Elegant ranges. Its pre-lam page labels Interior MDF as IS Grade II and Exterior as IS Grade I.
Greenply is the only brand of the five that shows MDF prices online, exclusive of taxes: ₹11.33 per sq ft for MDF Interior, ₹25.18 for 710 HDMR and ₹110 for Boil Pro 500, each shown as one figure not tied to a thickness. It publishes warranties of 20 years on 710 HDMR and 25 years on Boil Pro 500. Density figures were not stated on the pages checked.
4. Action TESA
Action TESA's MDF page is the only one of the five that cites the current standards by number: IS 12406:2025 for plain MDF and IS 14587:2025 for pre-laminated boards. It sells MDF in Regular/Interior and MR/Exterior grades from about 1.9mm to 25mm, describes the MR board as suited to covered, non-wet exposure, and claims CARB-certified E0, E1 and E2 emission grades plus tested resistance to borers, termites and fungus.
Beyond plain MDF it lists Action TESA HDHMR (density above 850 kg/m³), BOILO boards, pre-laminated MDF, Abraze scratch-resistant pre-lam, UV and acrylic high-gloss boards and embossed HDF. Sheet sizes and MDF warranty terms were not stated on the pages checked, which is why it scores lower here; ask the dealer for both.
5. VIR MDF (Rushil Décor)
VIR MDF is made by Rushil Décor at Chikmagalur (Karnataka) and Visakhapatnam (Andhra Pradesh) from plantation-grown eucalyptus and silver oak. The range covers VIR PRO (interior grade), VIR PROPLUS (exterior grade), VIR MAXPRO (HDFWR, high-density fibre water resistant) and VIR pre-laminated boards. VIR MDF comes in 2mm to 25mm, HDFWR in 3mm to 25mm and pre-lam in 4.6mm to 25mm, in 8x4, 8x6 and 6x4 ft sheets.
Its websites did not state density, emission class, BIS grade or warranty in text on the pages checked, so it scores lowest on published detail. Ask the dealer for the ISI licence, the grade marking and the emission class before you buy.
Greenpanel vs Century MDF: which should you pick?
Both publish full specifications: Greenpanel offers more sheet sizes and already uses the 2025 BIS grade names, while CenturyPly publishes more test data and starts thinner, at 1.5mm.
| Point | Greenpanel | CenturyPly (CenturyHDF) |
|---|---|---|
| Interior board | Interior MDF (REG Grade), 1.7-30mm | DIR, 1.5-30mm |
| Moisture-resistant board | Exterior MDF (MR Grade), 2.7-25mm | DWR, 3.3-25mm |
| High-density board | HDWR, 825 kg/m³ at 12-19mm | Premium Plus, 850-870 kg/m³ |
| Boiling-proof board | BoilBLACK BWP HDF, 12 and 18mm, 25-year warranty | Cenboil Plus |
| Fire-retardant board | FRMDF (REG Grade) | Fire Smart Panel, ASTM E84-2021 Class 1 |
| Sheet sizes | 8x4, 8x6 and 6x4 ft | 8x4 ft standard, others to specification |
| Emission information | E1 and E2; CARB P2; E0.5 option | CARB and E2; E1 for Premium Plus |
| 24-hour swelling published | Not on the MDF pages checked | 10% DIR, 7% DWR, 4% Premium Plus |
| 18mm interior listing, November 2026 | ₹2,114 per sheet incl. taxes (McCoy Mart) | ₹1,906 per sheet (MaterialDepot, Century Prowud DIR) |
Pick Greenpanel for 8x6 sheets or the new BIS grade labels; pick CenturyPly for published swelling data or 1.5mm sheets. For humid kitchens, compare HDWR and Premium Plus side by side; see Action TESA vs Century vs Greenpanel.
MDF manufacturers in India: where the boards are made
All five brands make MDF in India; three name their MDF plant locations on their own sites or filings.
| Brand | MDF plants named by the company | Production note from the brand |
|---|---|---|
| Greenpanel | Pantnagar, Rudrapur (Uttarakhand); Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh) | Thin MDF from 1.7mm made at the Andhra Pradesh plant |
| CenturyPly | Hoshiarpur (Punjab) | MDF and particle board listed among its wood panel products |
| VIR MDF (Rushil Décor) | Chikmagalur (Karnataka); Visakhapatnam (Andhra Pradesh) | Plantation eucalyptus and silver oak |
| Action TESA | Not named on pages checked | Siempelkamp Contiroll press line |
| Greenply | Not named on pages checked | Siempelkamp technology |
An 18mm 8x4 sheet weighs about 38 kg (PlyPrice estimate from Greenpanel's stated 710-720 kg/m³), so freight from the plant shapes landed prices; see MDF Board Price in India.
Emission, standards and termite claims compared
Four of the five brands publish emission claims and all five claim termite or borer resistance, but BIS recognises only E1 and E2 emission classes and IS 12406:2025 has no termite test.
| Brand | Emission information | BIS reference on site | Termite and borer claim |
|---|---|---|---|
| Greenpanel | E1 and E2; CARB P2 MDF; E0.5 grade | REG and MR grade names; IS 14587:2023 cited for pre-lam | Termite, borer and fungus resistant (terms apply) |
| CenturyPly | CARB; E2; E1 for Premium Plus and Fire Smart; TSCA Title VI | IS Grade 1 and 2; IS 12406 and IS 14587 in its manual | Borer, termite and fungus resistant |
| Greenply | CARB P2 MDF marketed as zero-emission | IS Grade I and II | Borer and termite resistant; Boil Pro 500 called termite proof |
| Action TESA | CARB-certified E0, E1 and E2 | IS 12406:2025; IS 14587:2025 | Tested for borer, termite and fungus resistance |
| VIR MDF | Not stated on pages checked | Not stated in text | Termite, borer and fungus resistant (termite-resistant MDF) |
E0, E0.5, CARB P2 and "zero emission" are brand claims tested to other standards, not BIS classes, so ask for the test report behind them; see Plywood Certifications Explained and Is MDF Waterproof or Termite Proof?
MDF warranties: what is published
Published warranties apply mainly to premium boards; plain interior MDF warranty periods were not stated on the pages checked.
| Brand | Board | Warranty shown |
|---|---|---|
| Greenpanel | BoilBLACK BWP HDF | 25 years |
| CenturyPly | Premium Plus | 20 years on the product page (5 years for Lower Emission Premium Plus in the 2024 manual) |
| Greenply | 710 HDMR | 20 years |
| Greenply | Boil Pro 500 | 25 years |
| Greenply | MDF Interior and pre-laminated MDF | Terms on Greenply's warranty website; period not stated on the product page |
Collect the warranty card, read what it covers and excludes, and register it where required. See Plywood Warranty Explained.
Which MDF brand range for which job
Choose the grade for the room first, then compare the brands' ranges in that grade.
| Job | Grade to ask for | Ranges that fit (brand names) |
|---|---|---|
| Bedroom wardrobes, TV units in dry rooms | REG (interior), 18mm | Greenpanel Interior MDF (REG Grade), CenturyPly DIR, Greenply MDF Interior, Action TESA Regular/Interior, VIR PRO |
| Kitchen and bathroom cabinets away from direct water | MR or higher, 18mm | Greenpanel Exterior MDF (MR Grade), CenturyPly DWR, Greenply MDF Exterior, Action TESA MR/Exterior, VIR PROPLUS |
| Humid coastal kitchens and sink-side units | High-density moisture-resistant board | Greenpanel HDWR, CenturyPly Premium Plus, Greenply 710 HDMR, Action TESA HDHMR, VIR MAXPRO |
| Wet zones where a boiling-proof claim matters | Brand's boiling-proof board | Greenpanel BoilBLACK BWP HDF, Greenply Boil Pro 500, CenturyPly Cenboil Plus, Action TESA BOILO |
| Offices, shops and hotels needing fire retardancy | Fire-retardant board | Greenpanel FRMDF, CenturyPly Fire Smart Panel, Greenply Boil Pro 500 |
| Children's rooms and low-emission specifications | E1, or a tested low-emission claim | Greenpanel CARB P2 or E0.5, Greenply CARB P2, CenturyPly Lower Emission Premium Plus, Action TESA E0 and E1 grades |
| CNC jali, wall cladding, thin overlays | Thin interior MDF | CenturyPly DIR from 1.5mm, Greenpanel from 1.7mm, Greenply from 1.9mm, Action TESA from about 1.9mm, VIR from 2mm |
| Ready-finished shutters and shelves | Pre-laminated MDF (IS 14587) | Greenpanel Classic and Exquisite, Greenply Perfect and Elegant, CenturyPly pre-lam, Action TESA pre-lam and Abraze, VIR prelam |
Buyers often use "HDHMR" as a general term for high-density moisture-resistant boards, but it is a registered trademark of Action TESA, so each brand's own product name is used above. More in Best HDHMR Board Brands in India 2026.
How to buy and verify branded MDF
Confirm the brand, grade and ISI licence on the board itself, then get the product name, warranty and delivered price in writing.
- Check the marking. IS 12406:2025 requires each board to show the maker's name or trademark, grade, formaldehyde class, size, batch number and date of manufacture.
- Verify the ISI licence. Note the CM/L number (CM/L- followed by 10 digits) and check it in the BIS Care app (Verify Licence Details) or on Manak Online (Status of Licence); the licensee should match the brand's manufacturer. The ISI mark has been mandatory for MDF since February 2025.
- Buy from an authorised dealer. Use the brand's own website or dealer locator to confirm the dealer.
- Name the exact product on the invoice. Write "CenturyPly DWR 18mm" or "Greenpanel Exterior MDF (MR Grade) 18mm", not just "Century MDF" or "Greenpanel MDF".
- Collect the warranty card where the brand offers one, and keep emission and termite claims in writing.
- Inspect a cut edge. The core should be even and compact, with no swelling or soft corners; measure thickness with a vernier (±0.3mm allowed).
- Compare delivered prices with GST, transport and cutting shown for the same brand, grade and thickness.
Looking for a verified dealer near you? Browse verified plywood and MDF dealers on PlyPrice and compare quotes before you buy.
FAQs
Which is the best MDF board brand in India?
On published, verifiable specifications, Greenpanel and CenturyPly lead, with Greenpanel ahead on current BIS grade names and sheet sizes. Greenply, Action TESA and VIR MDF follow. The right choice still depends on the grade your room needs.
Who are the top MDF manufacturers in India?
Greenpanel (Uttarakhand and Andhra Pradesh), CenturyPly (Punjab), Rushil Décor (VIR MDF; Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh), Action TESA and Greenply all make MDF in India. Ask any dealer for the ISI licence under IS 12406.
Greenpanel vs Century MDF: which is better?
Both publish complete specifications. Greenpanel offers 8x6 sheets and uses the 2025 BIS grade names, while CenturyPly publishes swelling data and sells DIR from 1.5mm. For kitchens, compare Greenpanel HDWR with CenturyPly Premium Plus.
Which MDF brand is best for kitchen cabinets?
Use an MR-grade or high-density moisture-resistant board from any of the five, not plain interior MDF. Options include Greenpanel HDWR, CenturyPly Premium Plus, Greenply 710 HDMR, Action TESA HDHMR and VIR MAXPRO; compare warranty terms and the grade marked on the board.
Do MDF brands give a warranty?
Some do on premium boards: Greenpanel BoilBLACK BWP HDF (25 years), Greenply 710 HDMR (20 years) and Boil Pro 500 (25 years), and CenturyPly shows 20 years on Premium Plus. Plain interior MDF warranty periods were not stated on the pages checked.
Is E0 MDF available from Indian brands?
Action TESA claims CARB-certified E0 grade MDF, and Greenpanel offers an E0.5 grade and CARB P2 MDF. E0 is not a BIS class, since BIS uses E1 and E2, so ask for the test report behind any E0 claim.
Sources and method: Product names, grades, thicknesses, sizes, densities, emission claims, warranties and plant locations are from each brand's own website, catalogue or filing: Greenpanel catalogue and product pages; CenturyHDF and its user manual; Greenply MDF; Action TESA MDF; VIR MDF and Rushil Décor. Grades and emission classes are from IS 12406:2025 (BIS listing). Listing prices are from MaterialDepot and McCoy Mart. Scores follow the seven criteria stated above. Prices are indicative, checked on 3 November 2026, and vary by city, dealer, brand series, thickness and order size.
Related guides on PlyPrice
Note: This is independent editorial content. PlyPrice is not affiliated with any brand mentioned in this article. Brand names and trademarks belong to their respective owners. HDHMR is a registered trademark of Action TESA. Prices and specifications are indicative and subject to change. Please verify current information with authorised dealers before purchase.
Disclaimer: This content is provided for general informational purposes based on industry practices and publicly available information. Product specifications, standards, prices, and availability may vary by manufacturer, region, and time. Readers should independently verify details with manufacturers, dealers, or qualified professionals before making purchase or construction decisions.
Want Plywood Suggestions?
Share a few details and a PlyPrice specialist will suggest suitable brands and connect you to responsive dealers.


